KPMG

Une réception de KPMG pour célébrer l’art et la culture autochtones

Exposition Bizindamowin : invitation à l’apprentissage par l’écoute

Conception d’exposition

Programmation culturelle

Conception d’expérience et d’événement — Conservation

Une réception de KPMG pour célébrer l’art et la culture autochtones | MASSIVart - Programmation culturelle

Dans le cadre de son Plan d’action pour la vérité et réconciliation, KPMG a organisé une réception unique pour célébrer l’héritage, la culture et les réalisations des Premières nations, Inuits et Métis du Canada. Durant cet événement, 50 artistes autochtones de l’Ontario ont fait découvrir aux participants l’art et les récits autochtones.

Grâce à la commissaire Sylvia Dreaver, Première nation Mistawasis, MASSIVart a eu l’honneur de produire, concevoir et programmer cet événement mettant de l’avant l’art autochtone. En compagnie de Mariah Meawasige et de Dawn Saunders Dahl, les anciens de KPMG ont rencontré des artistes autochtones pour apprendre et discuter de l’importance du récit et des pratiques autochtones.

La scénographie de l’exposition Bizindamowin (apprendre par l’écoute) s’inspire de la roue de la médecine. En plus de la salle principale, il y avait une sélection d’illustrations d’artistes dans un atelier d’impression. Il y avait aussi une salle immersive avec une nouvelle installation médiatique de Casey Koyczan, qui offrait aux participants une expérience multisensorielle.

Mariah Measwasige a créé l’image de marque de l’événement en interprétant la roue de la médecine sous un angle particulièrement moderne. Le logo reflète le caractère sacré de la roue, ainsi que la nécessité d’un esprit calme, de la concentration et de l’imagination pour croître. Le spectateur doit donc repérer par lui-même le centre de l’image. L’identité graphique et la palette de couleurs de l’exposition s’inspirent des structures et de l’iconographie autochtones, conférant ainsi une expérience cohérente et représentative.

Lors de la réception, les invités ont profité d’une sélection musicale de Deejay Jams, de thés infusés au cèdre du chef Paul Owl de Tree Tea Brewing (avec des œuvres d’art de Rhonda Snowl) et d’une cérémonie menée par l’aîné.e Blu Waters.

Afin d’assurer la prospérité des générations futures, la Fondation KPMG a versé une contribution à parts égales des œuvres vendues durant la soirée pour financer des bourses d’études destinées aux étudiants autochtones de l’Ontario College of Art and Design.

Les artistes indépendants (photographie, médias numériques, illustration, peinture et nouveaux médias) suivants ont participé à l’exposition : Tracey Metallic, Barry Pottle, Claude Latour, Alexis Nanibush Pamajewong, Laura Grier, Jobena Petonoquot, Morningstar Designs, Meky Ottawa, Kaya DaKosta, Joshua Pawis-Steckley, Kaiatanoron Dumoulin Bush, Emily Kewageshig, Aedan Corey, Hotdog Water, Candace Twance, Nishina Loft et Terry Awasish.

De plus, les galeries canadiennes suivantes ont accepté avec plaisir de prêter des œuvres : L.A. Pai Art Gallery (Barry Ace); Paul Petro Contemporary Art (Michel Dumont) ; Art Mûr (Sonny Assu, Nadia Myre et Jason Baerg) ; Blouin Division (Caroline Monnet) ; et Central Art Garage (Joy T Arcand).

La Feheley Fine Arts Gallery a également été ravie de prêter des œuvres réalisées par les artistes suivants : Jutai Toonoo, Quamaq Iyaituk, Shuvinai Ashoona, Nicotye Samayulaie, Kudluajuk Ashoona, Qavavau Manumie, Janet Kigusiuq, Mark Igloliorte, Padloo Samayulaie et Joe Talirunili.

L’événement fut un grand succès pour les artistes et KPMG, offrant une occasion unique de combler le fossé entre le monde de l’entreprise et la communauté artistique autochtone.

KPMG

KPMG Reception Celebrates Indigenous Art & Culture

Bizindamowin Exhibition Encourages Learning from Listening

Curation & Exhibition Design

Cultural Programming

Experience & Event Design - Curation

KPMG Reception Celebrates Indigenous Art & Culture | MASSIVart - Cultural Programming

As part of their Truth & Reconciliation Action Plan, KPMG hosted a unique evening reception dedicated to celebrating the heritage, culture, and achievements of Canada’s First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. During the event, attendees were welcomed to experience the art and storytelling of 50 established and emerging indigenous artists from the Ontario region.

Curated by Sylvia Dreaver, a member of the Mistawasis First Nation, MASSIVart was honoured to produce, design, and program the stunning event devoted to Indigenous art. With the collaborative support of Mariah Meawasige and Dawn Saunders Dahl, the evening provided an opportunity for KPMG’s alumni and Indigenous artists to connect, learn, and establish a dialogue on the importance of Indigenous storytelling and artistic practices.

The exhibition, entitled ‘Bizindamowin’ (to learn from listening), featured a Main Exhibition with scenography inspired by the medicine wheel symbol. Further to the Main Exhibition area, a Print Shop exhibited illustrations from select artists, and an Immersive Room featuring a new media installation by Casey Koyczan provided a multi-sensory experience for attendees.

Mariah Measwasige established the visual branding of the event with a distinctively modern interpretation of the medicine wheel. The logo signifies the sacredness of the wheel, the need for a quiet mind, focus, and imagination in order to grow, and the circle at the center of the image needs to be sought out by the viewer. The exhibit’s graphic identity and colour scheme were inspired by Indigenous structures and iconography – making for a cohesive and representative experience.

The evening reception was rounded out by a music selection from Deejay Jams, cedar-infused teas from Chef Paul Owl of Tree Tea Brewing (with art from Rhonda Snowl), and a ceremony led by Elder Bluewater welcome to guests.

To build prosperity for future generations, art sales from the evening will be matched by the KPMG Foundation to fund scholarships for Indigenous students at The Ontario College of Art and Design.

Independent artists in the exhibition included the following photographers, digital media artists, illustrators, painters, and new media artists; Tracey Metallic, Barry Pottle, Claude Latour, Alexis Nanibush Pamajewong, Laura Grier, Jobena Petonoquot, Morningstar Designs, Meky Ottawa, Kaya DaKosta, Joshua Pawis-Steckley, Kaiatanoron Dumoulin Bush, Emily Kewageshig, Aedan Corey, Hotdog Water, Candace Twance, Nishina Loft, and Terry Awasish.

In addition to the independent artists exhibited, the following Canadian galleries were delighted to loan pieces from established artists; L.A. Pai Art Gallery for Barry Ace; Paul Petro Contemporary Art for Michel Dumont; Art Mûr for Sonny Assu, Nadia Myre, and Jason Baerg; Blouin Division for Caroline Monnet; and Central Art Garage for Joy T Arcand.

Feheley Fine Arts Gallery was also delighted to lend pieces to the exhibition from the following artists; Jutai Toonoo, Quamaq Iyaituk, Shuvinai Ashoona, Nicotye Samayulaie, Kudluajuk Ashoona, Qavavau Manumie, Janet Kigusiuq, Mark Igloliorte, Padloo Samayulaie, and Joe Talirunili.

The event was a great success for the artists and KPMG, offering a unique opportunity to bridge the gap between the corporate world and the Indigenous art community.